The Best Part of Waking Up

Review of a cookbook and two breakfast sandwich recipes.

In June/July, I took a break from my usual food schedule (more on that in the next week sometime) to try out two cookbooks, both of which appealed to me for their ease and the summer-needed simplicity.

400 Best Sandwich Recipes (Alison Lewis) is okey, so far. Unless you are really big on sandwiches, I’m not sure it’s a book I would recommend to have on your self. Honestly, I feel like every recipe should really wow with technique and VERY solid combos and sauces, but I have so far found the combos and sauces to be only mediocre… sort of jumping off points. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to use this book extensively over the years. Sandwiches are a great food for ease, economy, and travel-ability. What better book to turn for for a picnic or a road trip? And when I want to whip up a French Dip or a grilled anything and cheese?

Incidentally, my two favorite recipes so far are both breakfast sandwiches.They are not much different from standard breakfasts I have been serving for years. In the past, I have always thought of these as sort of special breakfasts to have waiting on the table when guests are waking up at my house. Now it has occurred to me that they are also the sort of thing that would make a great breakfast to hand to your hubby or your kiddo (or yourself) on the way out the door. A great way to start the day right.

MORNING WRAPS

  1. In a medium non-stick skillet, melt a little butter and saute 6 eggs until cooked through and scrambled. Salt and pepper to taste.
  2. Lay out 4 whole grain, medium-large tortillas or lavash. Spread with softened neufchatel (or cream cheese), (drained) pico di gallo (homemade is good), and top with the scrambeled egg, 1 diced avocado, and 1/2 cup alfalfa or other sprouts.

EGG AND BAGEL BAR

  1. In a medium,  non-stick skillet, melt a little butter and either scramble or fry-to-order 4 eggs. Salt and set aside.
  2. Slice and toast 4 sesame or everything bagels. Serve with the following: the eggs, softened neufchatel (or cream cheese), smoked salmon, sliced tomato, thin-sliced red onion, and alfalfa or other sprouts.
Leave a Reply

