Well, I Can’t Always Be Perfect

I have finally found a food that both I and the kids can be equally passionate about. It’s not the perfect food. It’s not made from wheat germ and miso. Not even close. But if we can all gather around the table and eat something I made pretty much from scratch in a short amount of time (we’re talking home-lunches here), then we’re doing okey. And you will be, too. Especially with some sliced, fresh fruit.

photo(27)CREAMY SPANISH-INSPIRED DRY SOUP

I got this recipe from Deborah Madison, and I have no idea how authentic it is to real, Spanish food, nor do I follow her recipe from Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone. Like, for starters, I use chicken broth. Whoops!

  1. Heat a skillet over medium-high heat with a couple tablespoons olive oil. Take 8 ounces of capellini or vermicelli out of the box and break it into 2-inch-long pieces, right into the pan. Really, the shorter the better.
  2. When pasta is brown here and there (and your stove is covered is fly-away pieces of the pesky pasta), add 4 cups chicken broth (or veggie, or even beef) and bring to a boil. Lower to simmer and cook about 1o minutes, until liquid is almost all absorbed.
  3. Meanwhile, preheat your broiler on high. When pasta is done, sprinkle with 1/2 cup Monterrey Jack cheese and 1/3 cup feta. Broil until nice and browned.
  4. Slather with 1/3-1/2 cup sour cream (or crema) and sprinkle liberally with cilantro (or do that later, if your kids avoid the color green). I also like to sprinkle with fresh, diced chili and/or scallions, if I have them on hand. So good while hot out of the oven!

Leave a comment